오리 두 마리 | Two Ducks

어젯밤 저는 또 이상한 꿈을 꿨어요. 꿈에서 어린 아이하고 어딘가로 걸어가고 있었는데 무슨 중요한 약속이 있어서 아이를 주차장에 있는 차 안에 뒷자리에 앉히고, 창문을 내리고 차를 잠갔어요. 빨리 건물 안으로 달려갔어요. 거기서 오리 두 마리 만났어요. 근데 보통 오리가 아니었어요. 키도 크고 피부는 하얗고 머리카락도 있었네요… 긴 빨간 머리! 꿈 속에서 저는 어떻게 이 오리 두 마리를 같이 데려다줄까라고 생각했어요. 오리들한테 조끼를 두개 주고 입어보라고 말했어요. 조끼를 입어도 너무 이상해 보여서 저는 오리들한테 누군가가 너희들 누구인지 물어보면 “Nous sommes les genoux” 대답하라고 시켰어요. 한국어로 “우리들은 무릎이에요”라는 말이에요. 아침에 일어나자마자 제가 왜 그런 말을 시켰는지 너무 궁금했어요. 말도 안되는 소리를 시키는 것도 그렇고 저는 10년 넘게 프랑스어를 안 썼거든요. 생각해보면 프랑스어 너무 오래동안 안 써서, 원래 “Nous sommes les gens qui…”라고 말하고 싶었던 거였겠죠? 한국어로 “우리 뭐뭐 사람이에요”. 아 됐어요… 무의미한 것에 의미를 찾는 것 참 바보같지 않아요? ㅋㅋㅋ이게 무슨 이상한 꿈인가요? ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

[A big thanks to Kaylee Kon and Bella for correcting my entry on lang-8! ]

Loosely translated: 

So last night I had another strange dream. In the dream, I’m wandering around with a little kid and I apparently have to be somewhere important, so I leave the kid in the backseat of a car in the parking lot, roll down the window, lock the car and run into a building…where I meet two ducks. The thing is, they’re not just any ducks, they’re as tall as me with white feathers and… have hair… long…red…hair. I’m not sure how to take the ducks along with my to wherever it is I have to be, so I hand them two waistcoats and tell them to try them on. Of course a tall duck in a waistcoat with long red hair, is pretty much as strange as just a tall duck with red hair, so I tell them that if anyone asks, they should just say, “Nous sommes les genoux”, translated as, “We are knees.”

When I woke up in the morning, I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why I would ask them to say that. Not only was it absurd that I would ask them to say something that makes absolutely no sense at all, but also I haven’t spoken French for over 10 years. Come to think of it, I haven’t spoken French in a while, so maybe I was trying to say “Nous sommes les gens qui…” in my dream, translated as, “We are the people who…”. You know what… forget it… trying to make sense of something ridiculous is absurd in itself. What kind of a weird dream was this?!

Share your thoughts

