IBS Episode 2.75

So the follow up appointment was much delayed and the post about the follow up appointment even more so. All with good reason though… The test results look nice and clean so the doctor has suggested going on a low FODMAP diet. What that is, I’m not entirely sure. What it looks like is a very long list of food that I need to go through to screen out possible triggers. What it also looks like is an uphill and impossibly long and inconclusive battle. Why the negativity you may well ask? It’s obviously because the list contains the last of the yummy things that I still have in my daily diet so you can imagine why I’m not exactly keen on doing this. If I cut out anything more, I’ll be figuratively living on cardboard… because that’s what everything else tastes like. The good news is that I don’t have to cut out everything at once… it’s more of trial and error to see what works and what doesn’t. I’ll wait till Ramadan ends to start this but to be honest, Ramadan has been great for the tummy so I’m hoping the good run continues without me having to experiment too much. On the flip side there’s some “non-specific” result which the doctor said can be ruled out by doing a colonoscopy. I’d much rather not, thank you very much, the guts are rather camera-shy. So here’s hoping by the next appointment, I’m episode free and feeling right as rain.

Dear Doctor,

I’m sure you’re a nice person, but I can think of a hundred other ways I’d rather spend my weekend. Especially when you ask me to eliminate my happy foods – milk, orange juice and mangoes – from my diet. Happy holidays and I hope I don’t have to see you again for a long, long time. 🙂

Not-So-Happy-IBS-Camper

Share your thoughts

