Spring in South Korea- Day 11

Day 11- Also known as “The Strawberry Icing On Our Cherry Blossom Cake Day” ^^

It’s safe to say that the most time spent during planning was on picking out reliable tour guides in Korea for the two tours we wanted to do – one in Jeju and the other one a tour of Nami Island. We were lucky that my friend helped me get in touch with Mr. Song in Jeju who turned out to be an incredible guide (let me know if you need his details ^^ ), so all that was left was scouring the internet for reasonably priced, reliable and highly rated tours of Nami Island. We were looking to do a combination of Nami Island, Petite France and to squeeze in a visit to a strawberry farm just because it’s strawberry season, so finding a ready-made package proved insanely difficult. Tour operators who offered custom day tours proved incredibly expensive and since I’d figured that by Day 11 we’d be too tired to do everything by ourselves we were in a fix.

Luckily though, I somehow came across Andy Kim Tour – a reasonably priced, highly rated, seemingly reliable (from all the pictures they posted from their almost daily tours) tour operator on Facebook (hold the skepticism) who would even do custom tours! I didn’t hesitate, got in touch and before we knew it we were booked for Day 11 and all set to meet Andy at 10am ^^

We had gone to Angel In Us the night before so I could catch a glimpse of the KBS building. The temperature had dropped suddenly, so much so that we actually need the hoodies on our jackets too. The coffee shop had been nice and cozy so we woke up early on Day 11 for breakfast at Angel In Us and a walk around the park right across the street and a morning view of KBS (no I’m not a celebrity stalker).

20160405_094341

Early morning walks laced in pink blossoms

By 10 o’clock we were all set to go. Andy had messaged earlier on saying he’d been held up in traffic, but he reached soon afterwards. ^^ Since Mr. Song had been a middle-aged man, I was for some reason expecting more of the same so we were pleasantly surprised when Andy turned out to be not much older than my brother and I ^___^

We settled in for the long ride to our first stop- the strawberry farm. I’m a long drive kind of person provided I manage to escape my motion-sickness. Thankfully, I did on this trip (not so lucky for Z who had to close his eyes most of the ride) and ended up enjoying a beautiful drive through mountains filled with trees, getting ready to green. Throughout the trip, I began to truly appreciate what a different experience spring is from summer. For a person like me, who craves the green that only summer can provide, spring was like watching the birth of the season I love best- leaves sprouting on branches just awakening from their winter slumber, and brilliant flowers blooming with the promise of more life.

When we finally reached the strawberry farm, the thing I remember most is the silence. I would have been happy just to spend an hour enjoying the sound of absolutely nothing. But even the delicious silence can’t beat the thought of delicious strawberries so we headed straight in. Now the farm isn’t a farm per se, it’s more of a greenhouse, which is another thing that we noticed since Jeju. Greenhouses are big here… so popular in fact that the Jeju landscape was positively pockmarked with them. I can’t help but wonder if that’s just done to protect the plants in winter moving through to spring. In any case, we walked in with our empty boxes, and our simple instructions – to put in what you pick and make sure you can close the lid ㅎㅎㅎ

20160405_125839

And that… is what strawberry plants look like!

Never once in 27 years did it occur to me to imagine what kind of plants strawberries come from so this was a fun experience and I was surprised how easy strawberries are to pick! (I need to visit a farm at some point in my life). We picked and picked, the luscious red hanging below the green leaves and finally had our packed goodies ready to take away.

20160405_130724

완성!

My dad likes strawberries so we decided to pick up a bottle of freshly made strawberry jam for him before heading off to Nami Island. When we reached the parking lot for the ferry to the island, we could see scores of buses lined up and lots of people opting to take the zipline to the island instead of the ferry. Very adventurous! The ferry shuttles back and forth every few minutes or so. We got on to the waiting ferry which was jam-packed and in a minute or so we were getting off at Nami Island!

20160405_140549

Welcome to Nami Island!

Nami Island in spring was a paradise of tall trees coming to life. There are so many different paths under the trees, it’s hard to pick out a favourite. We walked past bridges and train tracks, lakes and flowers, church groups on outings, squirrels and ostriches until we finally reached  the Asian Family Restaurant which serves halal food and even has a prayer room. ^^ Andy was awesome enough to take pictures of us at every scenic spot and if it weren’t for him, I’d probably have no family pictures on the island because we were so busy taking everything in.

 

20160405_161946

Bridge to another walk of life

Lunch was yummy vegetable spring rolls and some chicken dish that Z will probably remember and for the second (third for Z) and last time in Korea, we used chopsticks. My rusty skills clearly indicated we’d been away from Japan for far too long ^^ We had fun chatting with Andy about UAE and travelling and a million random things- a great complement to the already yummy lunch.

We headed out after lunch and first stopped at some souvenir shops to take back some memento from Nami Island. The most popular ones are snowmen, thanks to Winter Sonata but mum opted for a picture frame showing all four seasons in Nami instead.

20160405_141729

Walking down another tree lined path. Say hi to Andy!

If I ever get a chance to visit Nami Island again, I’d like for it to be in autumn, another season I’ve yet to experience. The pictures of the island covered in red and gold are enough to entice anyone back. In fact as we walked, Andy showed us to a hotel on the island, which has just a few rooms, typically booked way in advance, for people who truly want to get away from it all – there’s no Wifi either! Now that’s something I’d definitely like to do.

20160405_155814

Yet another go-to spot for couples

After a while my throat starting hurting and it was the uh-oh am I about to lose my voice kind of hurt. I grabbed a hot tea, but it didn’t help much so I decided I’d just enjoy the experience of my voice growing hoarser and hoarser until it was gone. ㅋㅋㅋ We walked past upside down cows (I really don’t get this kind of art), handwritten signs and water shimmering in the sun until we finally got on the ferry back. Andy was awesome enough to go on ahead and get the car so my mum wouldn’t have to climb any more slopes (that quota was exhausted a long time ago).

We headed next to Petite France which was not too far away. The weather had been nice and comfortable all day, a light sweater was all we needed, but as we entered Petite France, it started to get really nippy.

20160405_174939

Welcome to France… in Korea!

I don’t know who came up with the idea of Petite France or its Swiss counterpart Eidelweiss, but all I know is I like the concept a lot! From the multi-coloured houses, to the outdoor puppet shows, from the art gallery to the typical French interior decor, I liked it all. It’s a quaint place which makes you feel you’ve been transported somewhere new.

20160405_174838

I think all houses should be painted pretty colours

There were nice places where you could sit outside and enjoy a cup of coffee, weather permitting, and I feel like it’s a nice place to go if you’re looking for some inspiration. There was a souvenir shop too, but like most tourist sites, the shops are usually overpriced.

20160405_174511

I finally found “Beyond” ㅋㅋㅋ

My favourite place in Petite France, though, was not inside any of the houses, nor in the square, nor surrounded by Pinocchio, nor down the many stairs. It was high up, with an incredible view of the rolling hills in the distance. This view reminded me of my favourite awe-inspiring view in Japan at Lake Kawaguchi. I realized I’m pretty consistent in the things I love. ❤

20160405_171546

Some views are best seen firsthand ^^

I could have stayed up there for hours surrounded by the butterfly sculptures with a view to  kill, but it was getting late and we had to head back to the hotel. We followed Andy out and began the long ride home.

20160405_174641

Time to head home

We were all pretty exhausted, Z drifted off and I had fun chatting with Andy about everything from Hello Talk to  버스커버스커 to 김광석 (he was nice enough to play some of my favourite songs for me too ^^) to ordering things from G-Market. After a while though my throat decided it was ready to go on vacation too, so I decided to give it some rest so it would reconsider. The traffic heading back to Yeouido was a killer, and after a while even Andy was in danger of drifting off- nothing a KitKat couldn’t solve ^^

When we finally reached the hotel (completely nausea-free 아싸!), we had exchanged contact details and I realized the best part of travelling has to be making new friends.

I can’t remember what we had for dinner, all I remember is we finalized most of our packing for the trip home on Day 12, my throat killing me, feeling terribly terrible and then my stomach going and dying on me in the middle of the night. -____- Way to steal the show but I’m grateful that it happened back and the hotel and not when we were stuck in traffic. Day 11 was kind of like that.. a day to be grateful for all the things we take for granted…

 

If you’d like to get in touch with Andy:
Whatsapp: 0082-10-7225-6248
Kakao Talk / Line: rookiek1
Email: andykim1118@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Spring in South Korea- Day 11

  1. Pingback: Bridges of Nami Island – Life in Minutes

  2. Pingback: Pied Piper of Petite France – Life in Minutes

  3. Pingback: Spring in South Korea- Day 12 | Pieces of My Life

  4. Pingback: Spring in South Korea- Day 10 | Pieces of My Life

Share your thoughts

